Skip to main content


Rio Salado College is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC).  In the United States, colleges and universities voluntarily seek accreditation from nongovernmental bodies such as the HLC. The Commission, which is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), currently accredits more than 1,000 educational institutions.

Higher Learning Commission Mark of Affiliation  

The NCA is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States and provides institutional accreditation to degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Rio Salado College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission
and a member of the North Central Association
30 North La Salle Street, Suite 2400, Chicago, IL 60602-2504
800-621-7440 /

In addition to regional accreditation, certain educational programs may have specialized accreditation that is granted by a national accrediting body. For example, students studying for specific professions such as dental hygiene, clinical dental assisting, and teacher education (to name a few), generally need to graduate from a program with specialized accreditation from the professional association for that particular field in order to receive a license to practice in the field.

Additional Information:  /